ARC Review: Lethal Rider by Larissa Ione

Thanatos; He’s been De-Virginized and He’s Angry!RAWR

Title: Lethal Rider
Author: Larissa Ione
Series: Lords of Deliverance #3
Publisher: Grand Central
Release Date: May 22, 2012

Born of a match between good and evil, four siblings stand between hell’s minions and everything they want to destroy. They are the Lords of Deliverance, and they have the power to ward off Doomsday…or let it ride…

Lethal Rider

Thanatos, the most deadly Horseman of the Apocalypse, has endured thousands of years of celibacy to prevent the end of days. But just one night with the wickedly sexy Aegis Guardian, Regan Cooper, shatters centuries of resolve. Yet their passion comes with a price. And Thanatos must face a truth more terrifying than an apocalypse-he’s about to become a father.

Demon-slayer Regan Cooper never imagined herself the maternal type, but with the fate of the world hanging in the balance she had no choice but to seduce Thanatos and bear his child. Now, as the final battle draws closer and his rage at being betrayed is overshadowed by an undeniable passion for the mother of his child, Thanatos has a life-shattering realization: To save the world, he must sacrifice the only thing he’s ever wanted-a family.

And she remembered the expression on his face when he realized she’d betrayed him. She was going to die, and it would all have been for nothing.

Lethal Rider begins eight months after Regan betrayed Thanatos in Eternal Rider.  Poor Thanatos has been living such a horrific life these past eight months sedated by Hellhound saliva rendering him in a bed unable to move at his siblings request. They believe they’re doing what is best for his safety as well as the safety of those around him with the threat of the Apocalypse. Oddly enough he hates Regan with such a fierce passion yet he yearns for her with the same amount of passion. Each passing day of these eight months have been torture. When he’s not spending the day watching television he’s either plotting Regan’s death or in visioning himself satisfying her in bed. *Sigh* talk about a steamy situation.

Why had she gone to extremes to get him in bed. Legend, he might have starfucker appeal, and sure, he knew he was handsome but resorting to drugs her supernatural ability in order to get what she wanted?

Regan has been regretting her actions since she first realized that Thanatos would make good on his promise to kill her. Over time as she is stuck at Aegis headquarters awaiting the birth of her child that has been prophesied as to the key to ending the Apocalypse. She has decided to give her child a home full of love that can provide a safer environment than Regan feels she can. Though she plans to place her child in the home of Kynan and Gem, Larissa Ione gives us little glimpses into Regan’s slight apprehension, not because she doesn’t feel they would fully provide for her child, but she has been bonding with the tiny life that is growing inside of her and her maternal instincts are developing.

“Then why did you save me?”

“Save you?” The vampire gestured to the ashy mess that used to be his brethren. “He was merely here to kill you. I’m taking you to Thanatos.” He grinned. “Trust me, I didn’t save you.”

However the warrior Thanatos has other plans that may disrupt Regan’s because his plans are to devour Regan one way or another he will have her under his control sooner rather than later. He soon discovers that he can move his legs, so he plans to outwit his siblings and forgo the next dose of Hellhound Saliva so he can get out from under their control and begin taking control of his life again, little does he know that Regan and his siblings have been hiding this pregnancy from him leaving him stunned.

From here Thanatos becomes the horseman we all know him as; fierce, sexy and Alpha! This revelation of soon becoming a father has him rethinking his desire to kill Regan but to protect her at least until the baby is born. He has always desired a family, and slowly we see an incredibly sexy side of Thanatos, where one minute he’s angry, the next he’s aroused, and then ready to take down an army to protect what is rightfully his. He’s greedy with his possessions and I found that intoxicating. 

“Is everything okay?” Ares’s voice came from the end of the hallway. “Limos is nursing on a headache, and Arik wants to shove an M-80 up your ass.” “Kinky,” Than said, “but I’m new to the sex thing. I’m not ready for hardcore yet.”

This book also has plenty of sub plots that have me anxious to dive right into the next book. Between Reseph aka Pestilence being his usual bastard self you can’t help but love him as a super villain. I believe his book will touch our hearts the most because he’s going to have a rough road ahead with his new alter ego Pestilence running the show. I’m excited just thinking about it. I enjoyed Reaver and all his escapades, he leaves me with a soft spot in my heart. Probably the most exciting reunion would be the cameos we get with the wonderful men of Underworld General  Hospital.

“You know what, buddy?” Wraith said. “They aren’t worth it. Not now. But later….” He jabbed his finger at Lance and bared his fangs. “You’re mine. And dude, I play with my food.”

I don’t want to give anything away but this book contains many engaging plots as well mysteries are being unravelled slowly but gradually in each book and there were a couple mysteries solved in this book that made my jaw drop. I devoured this book in almost one setting which I was disappointed in myself because now I must wait for the next release. For fans of Larissa Ione, Lethal Rider will leave you satisfied in more ways than one.

This book is a must read for all paranormal romance lovers that enjoy and original engaging plot, mystery, and simply delicious passionate sex! Bravo to Larissa Ione. If I wasn’t already a fan girl of her writing I would be now because her books are ridiculously  addicting. Is there an Ione support group for fans that simply can’t get enough of her amazing paranormal writing skills?! If so, enroll me now!! ;)

“All I could think of was you. When I was gone, all I wanted was to be back here with you. Only you.”

 

ARC provided for review by Netgalley for Grand Central Publishing

Click the Pink to Add to Goodreads & Pre-Order:

Goodreads      Amazon     Barnes & Noble      Book Depository

Miss Vain

Share
This entry was posted in ARC, paranormal romance, Review, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to ARC Review: Lethal Rider by Larissa Ione

  1. gr8 review
    i so need to start this series

    • MissVain says:

      Hi Rogier :)

      Thank you!!
      Yes start this series, but I suggest her Demonica series first since this this is a spin-off and both series are amazing. ;)

  2. Ha! Great review! I just snuck my review out before yours ;) Great minds at work again!!! Now, lets work on getting Rogue Rider!!!

    • MissVain says:

      Hi Kristin,

      I’ll have to check your review out then! Yes I agree, great minds!;) hehe. I agree, I want Rogue Rider now!! Thank you girlie!! :)

  3. You little monkey! Use the US cover! You’re American! HAhahaha! What happened with the icons? DId you do the draft?

  4. I am reading this right now and loving it so far. Great review!

  5. Jenese Leon says:

    Great review. I’m about a quarter of the way through and loving it. :-) Have a good weekend!

  6. I’m still a baby in the UF genre so I have yet to catch up with this author’s work but your sub-title, DE-VIRGINIZED… RAWR made me LOL!

    Bwahahahaha! you crazy & I love it

    Talk Supe

    • MissVain says:

      This is PNR Braine. And we all know that you’re the naughty librarian so you are all too familiar with PNR unless you have moved upto hard core porn? In that case this will be too soft for you! Lol.

      Devirginized!! Lmao!

  7. Samina says:

    De-virginised? LOL It cracked me up.

  8. Alexa says:

    So sad that I have yet to read her awesome books! I have heard so many things about her stuff and I actually own the first Demonica book and the first one in this series so I guess I had better get started. I believe someone said that this series stems from the Demonica series though so it is easier to read that one first then go on to this one.

    Enough ramblings, I’m glad you are enjoying this series so much and I hope that Ione’s books continue to do it for you.

    Thanks for the awesome review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>